Inyo County Spelling Bee: 2019 Winners


DATE: February 1, 2019
FROM: Mini Doonan, Spelling Bee Coordinator


Superintendent of Schools, Barry Simpson, is pleased to announce that Rose Bracken from Home Street Middle School won first place in the Inyo County Spelling Bee, sponsored by Altrusa.

Twenty-six students from local elementary and middle schools participated in the 2018-19 countywide Spelling Bee at Jill Kinmont Boothe School.  Sixteen students made it to the final rounds. The winners of the competition were:

  • 1st Place Rose Bracken (8th) Home Street Middle School

  • 2nd Place Ashley Fitt (7th) Home Street Middle School

  • 3rd Place Sabino Palestino (7th) Lo Inyo Elementary

After much fierce competition with words like diaphanous, fuliginous, and mulligatawny, the winning word was: colloquialism. The spelling contestants included: Trinity Diaz, Evan Fuller, and Chayton Patterson from Big Pine; Morgandy Barker, Rose Bracken, Bryce Cokeley, Ashley Fitt, and Robin Linse from Bishop Schools; Ayden Baker, Kaedyn Hilliard, Aiden Kingsford, Sabino Palestino, and Perfecto Valdez from Lone Pine; Julian Carter, Kevin Glenn, Drake Martinez, Noah Reade, and Avy Reilly-Todd from Owens Valley; Madison Benniger, Rylee Delmas, Kyra Maberto, Greg Tordoff, and Bryce Winzenread from Round Valley.  Several students also joined the preliminary competition as alternates to get practice for next year: Branden Gardea from Bishop, as well as Jade Griego and Evelyn Thornburg from Owens Valley.

Thank you to coaches Tim Steele, Meghan Fuchs, Carmen London, Bob Heist, Gemma Arana, and Rory Winzenread for working with their students to prepare them for the bee.  

The local Altrusa chapter sponsored the competition. They brought cash prizes and trophies for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners, along with $10 gift cards to Spellbinder Books for all participants. Andrea Shallcross, Valerie Higgs, and Cheri Stewart attended to judge the competition distribute awards to students. Lynne Almeida and Ilissa Twomey graciously fulfilled the positions of Final Competition Pronouncer and Preliminary Competition Pronouncer respectively. The Round Valley PTO donated $10 to the “last person standing” from each of the five districts competing.  The recipients of those awards were:

  • Chayton Patterson – Big Pine

  • Bryce Cokeley – Bishop

  • Aiden Kingsford – Lone Pine

  • Kevin Glenn – Owens Valley

  • Madison Benninger – Round Valley